Car blog

New to Massachusetts? What you need to know about your car insurance

To register a car in Massachusetts, you must have car insurance. By law, you must buy four policies called Compulsory (or Compulsory) policies in at least the minimum amounts required by law, and in higher amounts if you choose to do so. You can also purchase a variety of optional coverages to suit your needs. If you have any questions, contact our office at 41

3.475.7283 or fill out our quote form online today!

Mandatory coverage

There are four insurance coverages that are mandatory in Massachusetts:

  • Bodily injury to others protects you, or someone you allow to drive your car, from legal liability if you accidentally injure or cause the death of someone else while driving your car. It only covers losses if the accident occurs in Massachusetts and does not cover injury or death to a passenger in your car. You must purchase at least $20,000 per person and $40,000 if more than one person is injured.
  • Personal Injury Protection (also known as PIP) covers medical expenses, up to 75% of lost wages and replacement services up to a limit of $8,000. Massachusetts is a no-fault state which means that regardless of who causes the accident, PIP will pay these expenses for you or someone you let drive your car, anyone living in your household, passengers in your vehicle and pedestrians.
  • Uninsured auto bodily injury protects you, anyone you let drive your car, and household members and passengers (not covered by another similar Massachusetts policy) against losses caused by an uninsured or unidentified (“hit-and-run”) driver. You must purchase at least $20,000 per person and $40,000 total for all people injured by the uninsured car in the accident.
  • Damage to someone else’s property, also called property damage, pays for damage to someone else’s property when you, a household member or another driver you allow to use your car causes accidental damage to someone else’s property. You must purchase insurance that has a minimum limit of $5,000.

Once you’ve decided what coverage you need, the next step is to get information about the cost of that policy, including the premium, the reductions that insurance companies offer from the standard premium, and special provisions in an insurance company’s policy.

Before you make any phone calls or visit insurance company websites for a quote, gather all the information you need to get an accurate quote. Always ask for the same coverage levels for each quote so you can compare apples to apples.

At Encharter Insurance, your road safety is very important to us. Call us at (855) 899-0305 or visit our website at to discuss your auto insurance needs. We can offer coverage from many insurance companies so you get the insurance for your budget and needs!


Read more