In 1895, the U.S. Patent Office granted Ogden Bolton Jr. a patent for a battery-powered bicycle. However, the electric bike did not become popular until recently and has gained momentum during the COVID pandemic when people are looking for ways to train outside.
The global electric bike market (eBike) was valued at $ 16.34 billion by Allied Market Research 2017 and is expected to rise to $ 23.83 billion by 2025.
eBike prices range from $ 1,900 to $ 9,000.
Most eBike users have given little or no thought to non-life insurance. They assume that their eBike will be covered by their homeowners / car insurance policies, just like a regular bicycle. This assumption is in most cases incorrect.
eBikes, just like hoverboards and motorcycles can be exempted from coverage (both liability and property) according to a conventional homeowner. ] Why would an eBike be excluded from the same coverage as a conventional bike?
Twenty-six states recognize a three-tier rating system for eBikes; at the time of writing, Rhode Island is not one of these states. This classification gives a clear explanation of eBike's performance:
Class 2 eBike: is equipped with an engine that can be used exclusively to drive a bicycle with throttle control (similar to a motorcycle); when the eBike reaches 20 km / h, the rider must pedal the bike under his / her power.
Class 3 eBike: is equipped with a motor (and a speedometer) that only provides assistance when the rider is pedaling (pedal assistant); when eBike reaches 28 km / h, the pedal assistant stops leaving the rider to pedal the bike under his / her power.
According to Rhode Island State Statutes
An electric motorcycle (eBike) is defined as a motorcycle with a maximum speed not exceeding twenty-five miles per hour. At the time of writing, Rhode Island does not use the three-level classification system.
A person can not ride an eBike for 16 years.
Under current state law, a Class 3 eBike could be considered. illegal because it exceeds the maximum speed limit of 25 km / h.
eBikes do not have to be registered.
Even if you do not have to wear a helmet in Rhode Island, OceanPoint Insurance recommends that you do not ride a bicycle without a bicycle helmet and would like to remind you that helmets are always required for cyclists aged fifteen and younger.
According to the Massachusetts State Statute
Per Rhode Island, eBikes are classified as motorized bicycles, provided their maximum speed is 25 km / h. However, EBikes are not subject to the same road rules as ordinary bicycles, and eBike riders must have an operator's license or a student permit and are subject to registration requirements.
Helmets are required, and like Rhode Island, there is an age of 16 years for eBike riders.
eBikes are not allowed on sidewalks or bike paths for recreational bikes.