No one wants to pay more than they have to for car insurance, but when poor or risky driving leads to tickets, it can add big money to the amount you pay for insurance over years. Danielle Ling has a story in PropertyCasualty360 about which variable violations raise your car insurance prices the most. Note that these are averages ̵
Here are some of the most sensitive violations and the average annual increase
- Hit & Run – $ 1,212
- Racing – $ 1131
- DUI – $ 1100
- Refuses Breathing Protection – $ 1080
- Driving with Temporary Permit – $ 1044
- Reckless Driving – $ 1,038
We have written about DUI violations more in detail – a very dangerous behavior that can be very expensive:
Most states require you to report your DUI to your insurance company. A DUI is considered a major violation, such as careless driving or hit-and-run. You will be required to receive what is known as SR-22, a form deposited on your behalf by your insurance company that constitutes proof that you carry the necessary liability insurance amount. It is also a red flag that you are a high-risk driver. (In Virginia and Florida, the required form is called an FR-44.) There will be an application fee, usually between $ 20- $ 50. Not all insurance companies will file an SR-22. Some insurance companies will not insure high-risk drivers, so if yours does not file, you will probably need a new insurance policy with a company that will file the form.
Depending on the permit where you live, you will need to insure SR-22 for three to five years.
After you submit an SR-22, stay tuned: your insurance rates go up. A new study showed that the average insurance level increased by more than 56% – an annual tax rate of $ 1,000 would be $ 1,560 after a first DUI crime.
In addition to requiring an SR-22, you may also need to install (at your expense) an ignition device. The cost of installing these devices varies by jurisdiction, but is usually around $ 175- $ 300. These devices are basically respirators connected to your vehicle's starter motor. They do not allow the car to start if they detect alcohol in the breath (the base limit for permitted alcohol varies between jurisdictions, but is almost always "none"). At random times while the vehicle is in motion, the system will require an additional puff in the analyzer. This "rolling retest" is designed to prevent non-drivers from providing a breath test and to prevent alcohol consumption behind the wheel.
See more on our post: DUI laws, insurance prices and interlock devices
Good drivers may be entitled to discounts
It is important to know that even if risky and dangerous driving costs money on your insurance and even risk suspension or termination of your driving privileges, safe driving can save money.  Some states and some insurance companies offer discounts for safe driving or driver training. In fact, there are many different discounts for other reasons as well, although they vary depending on the state and insurers. We have compiled many of the most common discounts – see our post. Do not leave money on the table: Talk to your agent about car insurance discounts.